Greenland approves the freedom to marry for same-sex couples

Today, May 26, the Parliament of Greenland unanimously approved the freedom to marry for same-sex couples. The vote marks a big step forward for marriage for same-sex couples and shows that support and momentum are building around the world. 

Greenland is an autonomous region in the Kingdom of Denmark, which has embraced the freedom to marry since June 2012.

"The Greenland Parliament today embraced the freedom to marry and made it local... another part of the world and another step forward," Freedom to Marry founder and president Evan Wolfson said today on Facebook.

Greenland is the latest to pass marriage legislation internationally. Just last week, the nation of Ireland voted overwhelmingly in favor of marriage for same-sex couples, becoming the first country to do so. 

In total, same-sex couples can share in the freedom to marry in 21 countries on five continents: Nineteen countries have approved the freedom to marry for same-sex couples nationwide (Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, Denmark, France, Brazil, Uruguay, New Zealand, Britain, Luxembourg, Finland and Ireland), while two others have regional or court-directed provisions enabling same-sex couples to share in the freedom to marry (Mexico and the United States). In Slovenia, Parliament approved a marriage bill in March 2015 but is not final. 

Learn more about the international fight for the freedom to marry here.