Maine Becomes Fifth State to End Gay Couples’ Exclusion from Marriage

Maine's Governor John Baldacci signed into law a freedom to marry bill overwhelmingly approved by the Senate and House. Maine now joins Iowa, Vermont, Massachusetts, and Connecticut in ending the exclusion of gay couples from marriage.

  • New Hampshire will send a House and Senate-approved bill to end the exclusion of gay couples from marriage to the Governor's desk soon.
  • New York's Assembly passed a marriage equality bill and now it awaits Senate action.